The Happiest Place on Earth

Standard

Excitement is all around…

And it’s not even Christmas!  Actually things have been feeling a little more like Disney World, if that makes any sense.  I’m talking about the emotional journey the past five months have been for Made Lovely m&m.  For those of you Disney fans, you’ll know just what I’m talking about.  For those blog readers who have not “done” The Happiest Place on Earth, bear with me for this analogy or just skip over it completely.

I consider myself a little bit of a Disney expert.  I grew up going there pretty much yearly and have taken my 14 year old son 9 times.  I know how to “do” it right.  Well, at least I always feel like I’m going into it prepared.  Then it happens.  I go through just about every emotion in the book.  I’m overcome with joy and excitement then exhausted because, yes, I am there before it opens and stay until closing time- no breaks for my family!  I’m in awe with every character then annoyed by the people who think the world revolves around them and “cut” in line- I am a bit of a rule-follower.  I get the magical feeling of being in love while walking (as fast as they’ll allow) down Main Street.  I am proud when I get in line feeling patient only to find that 30 minutes later I was fooled and there is another room waiting around the corner with people snaked around the chains.  Giddiness fills me when I get that much desired Fast Pass and work the system just right to ride multiple rides between the hours of 8:00 and 9:00 AM.  I feel like pulling my hair out when it gets to be the hot afternoon – because we all know as a teacher I have to travel during peak time- and I’m sweaty and wishing I could jump in a pool.  Which reminds me of how incredibly scared I was when my son got lost at Disney’s Blizzard Beach as a young child.  Not a feeling I ever want to have again!  I feel cultured when going on my favorite ride, Small World, or eating (ie drinking) my way through the countries at Epcot.  I’m in disbelief by some of the people I see at the park.  And feel empathy for a child who is sick and perhaps on a Make a Wish trip.  The thrill of Rockin’ Roller Coaster gets me every time and no matter how many times I say I’m not going on Tower of Terror, I always give in.  The bubbles falling from the ceiling during The Little Mermaid show make me warm and comforted like a small child.  Adrenaline flows while challenging my son on the Buzz Lightyear or the Toy Story rides.   Ok, I’m feeling like I might be losing most of you at this point, except maybe my dad- the biggest Disney fan I know….

So how does this all relate to Made Lovely you may ask?  I’ll tell you.  This little business of ours is a lot like Disney.  Ha! I just laughed out loud thinking of that comparison.  But hear me out.  I can’t even tell you how many times Meg and I have laughed, cried, jumped up and down, made it rain money (true story), felt overwhelmed and deflated, wished, hoped, dreamed, and lost sleep trying to figure it all out.  Basically, we’ve had all the feelings I’ve experienced on a trip to The Happiest Place on Earth!  I imagine our experience at the Kane County Flea Market next week will be like Disney on steroids.  Our adventure there will be like the first time a Disney newbie sets foot in Magic Kingdom.  We don’t know what to expect, but are hoping we “fit” in and our booth looks welcoming.  But most of all, we hope you all will be able to come out to say hello!

I’ll leave you with one of my fav songs…

M-I-C- See you real soon!

K-E-Y- Why? because we like you!

M-O-U-S-E

Stay lovely!

Marie

2 responses »

We'd Love to Hear From You!

