Taking Time for Ourselves

Standard
Taking Time for Ourselves

 Warning: it’s a long blog.  I have a lot to say today. 🙂

So Pinterest.  I go through phases where I am feeling all Pinteresty and want to bake, cook, craft, decorate and basically feel like a failure when I’m ogling the pins.  Other times I stay away and forget how other people are living in that fantasyland.  As the weather started to cool off I found it was time to pull out my fall mantle décor that Pinterest inspired me to create last year.  So into the crawlspace I went and got out all of my oldie but goodies and newer adornments to spruce up my house.  I decided that Halloween decorations are a waste of time as Noah could care less about my cutesy holiday stuff being a cool high school football player and all, so I would just focus on bedazzles that would last until my holiday cheer décor makes its debut.

After setting up my mantle, I felt it was definitely missing something so I turned to my trusty dusty Pinterest app.  That is when I saw some amazing banners and fell in love with one that said ‘Give Thanks’.  Luckily for me, I had already planned to visit the KCFM and now had a mission to find the banner.  This is when Bungalov entered my life.  Their booth was amazing.  Everything was cute and perfectly staged.  Best of all, they had banners galore.  They seemed to have everything except the one I longed for.  After a quick chat with the owner, Jen, she told me to email her and she’d make the banner of my dreams.  And voila, just a week and a half later, my mantel is adorned with her gorgeous banner!  Check it out:

mantle 2mantlemantle 3

What do ya think??

Another recent change in my home is the dark downstairs bathroom.  I love cool colors.  My house is covered in grays and blues and decorated in black and white.  Before I moved into my home I had it painted and chose an amazing Benjamin Moore navy blue color called Polo Blue for my kitchen and downstairs bathroom.  I love it.  Except my bathroom has no window and    it’s quite dark in there.  I’ve always struggled decorating that space and until now I never knew how to jazz it up a bit.  After completing this beaut, I thought I’d love to stencil a wall.  So I read a few blogs, googled the best directions for the job and got to work.  I started at the ceiling because one blog said to do that and I started in the middle because I didn’t with the hutch and during the process I wished I had.  I don’t have a before pic, but I’m sure you can picture a tall navy blue wall on your own.  I cautiously started stenciling using a foam roller and, just as my research suggested, pulled the stencil immediately off the wall while it was still wet.  I continued down the wall.

photo 2

Like with most projects, my confidence started to creep up on me and I worked more and more quickly thinking nothing bad would ever happen to me.  You’d think I’d learn that lesson by now. 😉  And then this happened.

photo 1

There were tears, there were remarks of giving up, texts to various friends about my frustrations, and a lot of self-loathing.  Then of course I stopped working.  For like a week.  I’m notorious for starting projects and taking forever to finish them.  The yellow guest room upstairs?  Started painting over Christmas break one year and then closed the door and finished it in the summer.  I hate how bright the room turned out, but there’s no way I’m repainting it. Unfortunately, the next nearest bathroom is Noah’s upstairs and I’d rather die than have any guest go in that one!  So, I went back to the wall.  I painted over the mistakes in navy and stenciled once again.  This time I was more careful.  It still has its hiccups, but overall I’m satisfied with the results.

Now it was time to tackle the odd spaced cut-out in the back.  I went to my garage where it looks like I’m a furniture hoarder and found this cutesy antique dresser.  I also found an amazing gold mirror my mom had previously brought over. You can see it in the background wrapped in bubble wrap toward the back of the picture.  Meg reminded me that mixing styles is a good thing, so I decided Moroccan-antique design it was! IMG_9071

I removed the broken handles and moved the hardware around, slapped some paint on this baby, added some crystal knobs and moved her in!

bathroom 4

I love the original hardware on this piece!

Now it was time for finishing touches! The most stressful, but satisfying part of all!  I came across the coolest silver antelope head at Homegoods a couple weeks ago while shopping with my bestie, Christy.  The antler was broken off, but for some reason I could not get that quirky piece out of my mind.  So I marched back into Homegoods with a mission.  Surprisingly, the broken head was still there, and I studied if I would be able to fix it.  The kind worker told me I’d probably have to weld it together.  Pretty sure I don’t know how to do that, but she did tip me off to another part of the store with similar décor.  And voila!

20131018-185522.jpg

For now I’m using my off-season mantle vase and flowers and this cool elephant that was my grandmothers.  I’d love to get a key and incorporate it somehow in there because the key holes in the dresser are just that cool.  Some towels and new handles for the cabinets topped it off and here is the finished room.

20131019-175344.jpgbathroom 5 bathroom 6

These little changes feel good because I’m usually creating beautiful items for other people!  Therefore, I’ve decided it’s perfectly ok to spoil ourselves every once in a while.

Wishing you all things lovely,

Marie

2 responses »

We'd Love to Hear From You!

