Dark Wax Feared No More…

Standard

Well it has happened.  I never thought I’d be “that” person…  the one that needs a bumper sticker for the back of her car that warns all other drivers that this vehicle stops frequently for garage sales, or even “treasures” discarded on the side of the road.  In the words of the great poet, Macklemore, “One man’s trash is another man’s come-up…  I’m going to take your Grandpa’s style.”

So as Marie and I jammed to some of our favorite tunes- such as “Thrift Shop”, we worked tirelessly to debut some substantial pieces to our public this week.  From rags to riches, this dresser turned into quite a beauty.  Marie is very proud of its end result as this was a project she took on herself.  The flower carvings she highlighted in graphite are my favorite. I’d say that this dresser combines Old Hollywood style with French Provencal and is absolutely exquisite!

Image frenchie 1

Then there is this piece…  a cherry wood cabinet that needed some character.  Do I dare break out the dark wax on a piece this large?  First, I should tell you that Marie and I had been a little hesitant, intimated even of dark wax.  We were “warned” by our instructor back in May that it can be difficult to use and takes some practice.  We had used dark wax before, but on much smaller pieces.  So, after I gave this cabinet three coats of duck egg blue, hand-waxed and buffed it till I thought my arm would fall off, I cracked open the dark wax and started on the long sides.  Many hours later this is the end result.  Dark wax feared no more.

DSC_8773 DSC_8786

So, whether its  a cabinet left on the side of the road or a dresser from an estate sale, we enjoy every minute of making our pieces lovely. And hey, if you’re driving behind one of us- be aware- we make frequent stops.  No piece is too big; we’ll find a way to lift it or make it fit! (Shout out to our muscles- Gene and Noah ;))

As always…  Wishing you all things lovely,

Meg

One response »

We'd Love to Hear From You!

